Notice from the Australian Electoral Commission

Presidential Officers election

Nominations are called for:

  • Branch President
  • Branch Deputy President
  • Branch Senior Vice-President

Nominations, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the organisation, may be made at any time from 30 August 2017. They must reach my office or postal address or AEC email inbox no later than 12:00 noon on Wednesday, 20 September 2017.

Nomination forms are available from me or the office of the organisation. Nomination forms are also available on the organisation’s website.

Nominations cannot be withdrawn after 12:00 noon (AEST) on Wednesday, 27 September 2017.

Candidates may submit a statement to be included with ballot material. Only statements that comply with Rule 31 (6) (d) of the AEU NSWTF Federal Branch Rules and are received by Ishtiaq Ahmed, Returning Officer, by 12:00 noon (AEST) on Wednesday, 27 September 2017, will be published. The statement must be sent in the form of an electronic file, word document (.doc) and is restricted to a maximum of 400 words and may include a passport-sized photograph. Statements and photographs (passport size as a jpeg file) will not be accepted after 12:00 noon (AEST) on Wednesday, 27 September 2017.

How to lodge nominations:

By post: Australian Electoral Commission, PO Box 496, Haymarket NSW 1240

By fax: (02) 6215 9910

By hand: Level 10, 59 Goulburn Street, Haymarket NSW 2000

By email: A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures and attachments may be scanned and submitted as a pdf file to

PLEASE NOTE: Emails to the AEC inbox that appear to be spam may be blocked. It is the responsibility of senders to ensure that their email reaches the AEC before the deadline for nominations. You may call the contact number provided to check.

The postal ballot, if required, will open on Wednesday, 18 October 2017 and close at 10:00 am on Wednesday, 15 November 2017.

Changed address? Advise the organisation now.

Note: A copy of the AEC’s election report can be obtained from the organisation or from me after the completion of the election.

Ishtiaq Ahmed, Returning Officer, phone (02) 9375 633.