Teachers Mutual Bank elections

Rod Brown
Assistant General Secretary (Research and Industrial)

Nominations are now open to elect two directors to the Board of Teachers Mutual Bank as well as fill four positions on the Members Committee.

Nominations close with the Returning Officer on September 5 at 5pm. Nomination forms, fit and proper policy, Board Charter and the Bank’s Constitution are available by contacting Teachers Mutual Bank.

There are strong historical links between Teachers Mutual Bank and Federation. Teachers Mutual Bank, still referred to affectionately by many members as “the Credit Union”, started in 1966 as the Hornsby Teachers Association (of the NSW Teachers Federation) Credit Union. It became the NSW Teachers Credit Union a year later and in April 2012 became Teachers Mutual Bank.

Despite Teachers Mutual Bank having in excess of 159,000 members few members exercise their right to vote.

Members are urged to carefully consider the material from the candidates and to then exercise their right to vote for candidates who are committed to the best interests of Teachers Mutual Bank and its members as well as also recognising the importance of Teachers Mutual Bank maintaining its strong links between teachers and public education.

Teachers Mutual Bank uses the first past the post voting system with a preference for candidates being marked by a cross rather than with numbers. To cast a formal vote it is possible to vote for as few as one candidate in the ballot but for no more than the number of positions to be elected. In the Board election you must vote for no more than two candidates but can vote for just one candidate to ensure your ballot is formal and in the Members Committee ballot you must vote for no more than four candidates but, again, can vote for just one, two or three candidates. Please note, to indicate your support for a candidate you should mark only with a cross against the candidate’s name.

Rod Brown is a past member of the Teachers Mutual Bank Members Committee.